Just get on the highway. 

We made a quick trip to FW (Fort Worth) this week to drop the sweet boy off with grandparents. And when it was one to leave it was also time for 5 o clock traffic. 

It seems that everytime I come back home that I have a few moments of really lamenting that we no longer live in the big city. But then I sit in traffic for a few minutes (or 76) and I’m. Over. It. 

I HATE sitting in traffic on a freeway. Just sitting. Awkwardly trying to not make eye contact with the people in other cars as your cruise awkwardly together down the freeway at the breaking speed of 5 mph. Hate it. I would just as soon spend my time taking back roads in every which way (my mother would call it taking the scenic route) than sit on a freeway going nowhere. 

So today I directed Anthony to drive taking back roads out of one part of the city to get home quicker. Little did I know (Google map fail!!) that the backroad was just as backed up with traffic as 35 was. Grrrr. 

So we sat. And wasted time. Going nowhere. Finally we made the executive decision to get back on 35 and tough it out. As we started cruising down the road (10mph!!!!) it dawned on me that sometimes I do the same thing in my real life. 

Rather than just doing the thing I hate to do, I will often just try to take back roads or short cuts. To try to accomplish the same purpose. But to do it my own way. On my own time table. In a way that feels most comfortable to me. 

When what I need to do is just obey. Do the thing I know God is asking of me. In His way. In His timing. Even if it makes me feel uncomfortable (or frustrated. Or scared. Or whatever) 

Y’all. I’m preaching to myself. God is so good. I hope and pray that you will trust Him and do the thing. Just do it. Right now. And I will, too. 

Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. – Proverbs 3:5-6

Leave a comment