Faithfulness

This past weekend I was able to steal away for a few moments after my kids went to sleep. Thankfully this time of year it is still light outside until near past 8 pm. And so I took a quick walk around our loop to get some steps in and to clear my head. When I caught a glimpse of that sunset though, I was so struck. I re-planned the route I was going to walk just so I could get a better glimpse of the cool blues and striking pinks, plus the incredible huge clouds thanks to a storm nearby.

What a beautiful evening to walk. I had been listening to a podcast earlier in the day (Happy Hour with Jamie Ivey Episode #195 with Amy Hannah) I loved Amy so much! I immediately had gone and followed all things Euna Mae’s on social. I cannot get enough of her. I want her to be my pastor’s wife. But then I remembered that I’m the pastor’s wife. So there’s that.

Back to the beautiful evening to walk. One thing Amy had said in her interview had continued to tumble around in my mind all evening. She said she had prayed and asked God how he wanted her to serve him in her current season of life. The answer she received was beautiful and such a gorgeous story of God’s leading and provision for her and her gifts.

All of a sudden I found myself praying the same thing. “God, what do you want from me in this current season of life?” And immediately I knew. “Faithfulness” He spoke it right to the very heart of me. Faithfulness.

It was the perfect answer. Perfect for me. Perfect because for the past several days God had been reminding me of his perfect faithfulness to me in all things. I even had sung the beloved hymn Great is Thy Faithfulness over Gracie as she fell asleep the past few nights in a row. Each time reminded of how perfect God has been to us in his goodness and faithfulness to us in every season. Seasons of joy and excitement, seasons when everything seemed to come easy and uncomplicated. Then the hard seasons of grief or conflict. Seasons of change, seasons of depression. He has been so faithful to me, y’all. I can’t say it enough or emphasize enough – He has been so FAITHFUL. I am absolutely overwhelmed by it.

Sunday morning at church we worshipped with the song, King of my HeartIt’s just really the best. I love to sing it at the top of my lungs. I can’t sing it loud enough really.

With lyrics like,

You are good, You are good.

You’re never gonna let me down.

When the night is holding on to me, God is holding on.

As we sang that song to God, I said over and over, YOU ARE FAITHFUL God. You are so faithful. You are unendingly faithful.

And so, when God told me that what He wants from me is faithfulness, I can’t help but think that He’s saying to me, it’s not as though I haven’t shown you what that looks like.

And so I make it my aim, I set my heart:

  • to faithfully FOLLOW JESUS every day.
  • to LOVE MY HUSBAND faithfully.
  • to RAISE UP MY KIDS faithfully.
  • to faithfully MAKE DISCIPLES.
  • to USE MY GIFTS AND TALENTS faithfully to serve God and further His Kingdom, not mine.
  • to faithfully SHARE THE GOSPEL.
  • to faithfully OBEY GOD in all that He asks of me.
  • to faithfully SHOW UP and BE BRAVE when I really want to give up and cower in fear.

Lamentations 3:22-24 “Because of the LORD’S faithful love we do not perish, for his mercies never end. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness! I say, ‘The LORD is my portion, therefore I will put my hope in him.'”

Psalm 4:3 “Know that the LORD has set apart the faithful for himself, the LORD will hear when I call to him.”

Leave a comment